Zen's Aviary...
Home of the Parrot-Loving, Slightly Neurotic,

Jewelry Designing, Enigmatic Pagan Chick!

this is the meme that never ends...

2006-10-15
this meme was stolen from the lovely LA-the-Sage. took me forever to do so hope someone finds it worth reading! *grin*

Do you hate more than 3 people? No, I can�t think of but one person in my personal life that I hate and that is because I believe she (no names here) is truly an uncaring purposefully cruel person. There are people who�s actions I hate�but not them.

What is your favorite candy bar? Milky Way Midnight. Yummy!!!

What are your favorite shoes? My Chuck Taylor All-Stars! Each Pair! LOL

Have you ever tripped someone? Chances are I did when I was a child, yes I did�but I don�t have a conscious memory of doing so�probably tripped my brothers when we were little!

Do you own a Britney Spears CD Nope!

Have you ever thrown up in public? Several times when sick or drunk! And remember I had an eating disorder for years. I knew where every public bathroom in my town was!!

What is your favorite music genre? Love chick alternative type rock like Alanis Morrisette, Ani Defranco, Tori Amos, Fiona Apple, Melissa Etheridge, Aimee Mann, Norah Jones, Jill Sobule.

What is your sign? Gemini, yep and I fit the profile! *grin*

What time were you born? Mmmm, I�m thinking it was around 4:45 or 5:45 in the evening, but I�d have to call my Mom to make sure! Do you want to know that badly??

Do you like beer? Not much, I enjoy Guinness on tap and maybe a cold Honey Brown in the summer.

Have you ever made a prank call? Oh yeah, I too grew up in the days before caller ID and star 69, etc. I was an eeeeeeeevil little child!

What is the most embarrassing CD you own? I�m not embarrassed by any of my music choices even if they weren�t loved by my friends or family�let me think of what I might have that my daughter or hubby would say EWWWW, why do you have that?? Maybe �Seusical the Musical� or �Barry Manilow�.

Are you sarcastic? Oh yes, my whole family just adores sarcasm and when we�re all together we drive other people crazy! Newcomers to our family by marriage always take awhile to get used to us!!!

What are your favorite colors? For clothes: black or dark purple. For the house deep jewel tones; garnet red, hunter green, deep purple, cobalt blue, black onyx.

How many watches do you own? Too many! Two cute Eeyore watches of which I only wear one, I need to sell the other on e-bay. I have a plain men�s Timex that is probably about my fave as well as several others just lying in my jewelry box.

Summer or winter?Neither? I much prefer Spring and Autumn, Autumn is my very fave. I had always enjoyed winter more so than summer but lately with the pain I�m in, winter seems to HURT! But so does summer humidity�so that is why I said neither!

Spring or fall? See Above.

What is your favorite color to wear? See above.

Pepsi or Sprite? Diet Sunkist, nectar of the Goddess!

What color is your cell phone? black and silver�rather boring, am hoping for a new one for Yule!

Have you ever slapped someone? Yep, in 7th grade American History class, I slapped MB in the face�don�t even remember now what he said but it had to have been something heinous for me to resort to slapping him. MB is now the mayor of the small town where he lived! LOL

Have you ever had a cavity? Too many. Unfortunately I have my father�s bad teeth. Doesn�t help that I had many years of bulimia as a teen.

How many lamps are in your bedroom? One bedside lamp and also have the ceiling fixture as well. And a lava lamp on the dresser!

How many video games do you own? Too many to count. We have Sony Playstation and N64 which have many games, none of which are even played anymore. Mostly have computer games to which the hubby is addicted.

What was your first pet? A long haired guinea pig named Patches.

Have you ever had braces? Yup, wore them for over two years in high school. Top teeth are still very straight and nice but my bottom teeth got crooked again when my wisdom teeth came in sideways and impacted in my 20�s.

Do looks matter? Of course looks matter. Should they, no�.but as LA said the reality is that they do. Magazines, television and movies do so much to perpetuate the problem�young women today are convinced they need to be tall and slim to be successful. It�s no wonder eating disorders are so prevalent.

Do you use Chapstick? No, I prefer Burt�s Bees.

Name 3 teachers from your high school: Mr. Y, my Humanities teacher and quite the coolest teacher I�ve ever had. He used to take the class to the Planetarium where we�d lay back on the benches and listen to Kansas, Styx and Rush. Ms. D. my AP English teacher who introduced me to Isadora Duncan and Existentialism. Mrs. S my Al-trig teacher who felt sorry for me because I just couldn�t get �it� no matter how hard I tried or how much I studied, hence she gave me D�s even tho I deserved F�s.

American Eagle or Abercrombie? American Eagle t-shirts are awesome, so soft! And I buy them at TJMaxx for less than half their regular prices! I�ve never bought anything from Abercrombie, way too overpriced and preppy for me!

Are you too forgiving? Oh yes! I�m a total softie!

Do you own something from Hot Topic? Yep, what a fun store! Love their t-shirts and hoodies and they have lots of Tinkerbell and Amy Brown faery stuff!

What is your favorite breakfast? Coffee or Diet Sunkist! I�m not much of a morning eater. I do occasionally like to go to Mickey D�s on the weekends with hubby and get an egg and cheese biscuit!

Do you own a gun? No! Wait, does a super-soaker count?

When was the last time you cried? Last week at Cooper�s memorial service.

What did you do 3 nights ago? Hmmmm, that would have been Thursday evening. I watched �Grey�s Anatomy� and my fave sit-com �the Office� and then went to bed. Hey I get up early for work these days!

When was the last time you went to Olive Garden? We aren�t big Olive Garden fans. Must have been about nine years ago when we still lived in Arizona. As LA said, it was underwhelming!

Have you ever called your teacher mom? Um, no why would I do that?

Have you ever been in a castle? When I was two and three years old we lived in Europe and went all over England, Scotland, Spain, Finland, Sweden, Austria, Switzerland, France, Holland etc. So I have many slides of myself in castles; unfortunately I don�t remember them! When I was a junior in high school I went on a French class trip to Canada and we went to a castle although without looking it up I can�t remember where!

What are your nicknames? Growing up my parents and brothers called me �sis�, my dad also called me �pumpkin� and �love�. Then when �Em� was born my dad called her �pumpkin little� and �little love�. My hubby calls me �hon� or �babe� and his family calls me a diminutive of my real name. And of course my online nickname is �zen�.

Do you know anyone named Bertha? No, and apologies to any Bertha�s out there but I always thought of that as a fat girl�s name. *blush*

Have you ever been to Hawaii? Never.

Do you own something from Banana Republic? Nope, I�ve never even stepped foot into a Banana Republic. I prefer Old Navy! More in my price range!

Are you happy with your life right now? Some times, some ways, some days. My hubby and I are getting along much better for which I am extremely thankful. I enjoy my job and love having a paycheck again. My health in some ways is doing much better although the chronic pain is something that is going to be a part of my life forever; it is more under control with the better meds. I love my animals and they brighten up my every day. My fids make me light up every time I enter my home!! The part of my life with which I am not is happy is missing my Mom and my daughter so much. My mom is almost four hours away and I don�t get to see her as often as I would like to. My daughter is away at college and I miss her like crazy!!! If I had my way my Mom, my daughter and I would live in a house together! Although not sure that they would love it as much as I would! *smile* My major depression is under control with Effexor but I often seem to stay in a constant state of minor sadness that I have to try and talk myself out of.

Does anyone like you? I sure hope so! *smile* I have several close friends although I am such a homebody that I don�t see them as often as I should. I tend to hibernate on weekends especially when I �m working. Weekends are my resting and catch up on sleep times!

What were you doing May of 1994? I was 30 years old. My divorce from �Em�s� dad was final on Friday May 13,1994. �Em� was in first grade and I was her Brownie leader and a volunteer at her school in her classroom as well as two mornings a week in the kindergarten class. We lived in the country in Ohio and I loved it. I had just gone back to college full time that month and I was so happy and looking forward to my future.

McDonald's or Wendy's? Mickey D�s. I love to go get a Big Mac with no meat or two hamburgers, no meat! They sure know how to grill a bun and I love their minced onions! *smile* Wendy�s doesn�t do it right. They just take a cold bun and slap some ketchup and mustard on it. Hence, I am a Mickey D�s fan!

Do you like yourself? I am trying.

Favorite feature of the opposite sex? Physical features? Eyes, smile, forearms and hands. I am a sucker for large forearms and hands. The first thing I noticed about the hubby was his sexy forearms, I still love to stroke his arms! lol

Are you afraid of the dark? If I am alone, yes I am afraid of the dark. My imagination gets away from me every time!

Have you ever eaten paste? I remember as a kindergartener tasting paste, it tasted like wintergreen.

Do you have a webcam? Yes, but I haven�t used it in a long time. I used to use it to talk to friends who lived far away. But usually when I�m online I�m in sweats or flannel jimmies with sloppy t-shirts and mussed hair. I prefer not to be on camera at such times!

Have you ever stripped? I have stripped sheets from the bed. Ha! Actually I have done some extremely amateur stripping for the hubby! lol

What was the last film you saw at the cinema? We rarely go to the cinema. We have a projection tv and 72� inch screen with surround sound so it�s just like a home cinema, but you can pause the movie for potty breaks and the snacks are cheaper!! I think the last movie I did see at the cinema was �Sin City�.

What are your favorite TV shows? �The Office�, � Veronica Mars�, �Eureka�, �Stargate Atlantis�, �Men in Trees�.

What did you have for breakfast? Diet Sunkist.

What is your middle name? Ann

What foods do you dislike? Red meat, tapioca pudding, hominy, okra, black olives, anything fried.

What is your favorite CD at the moment? Jill Sobule, Saving Jane (Girl Next Door), Alanis Morrisette (Jagged Little Pill).

Favorite sandwich? Sourdough bread with greenleaf lettuce, red onions, banana peppers, tomatoes, mustard, cheese and smoked turkey.

What are your favorite clothes? Jeans and t-shirts with hoodies in cool weather. When I�m at home flannel pants with t-shirts and hoodies. And on my feet, my fave Chuck T�s!

What color is your bathroom? Upstairs bath is blue and cream. Downstairs bath is blue and brown.

Favorite brand of clothing? Old Navy.

Where would you want to retire to? I�m not that particular about the state, somewhere with a couple of acres of land, a home that the hubby and I have decorated ourselves, a barn and some woods in the back. Somewhere quiet and private.

Favorite time of day? Coming home after work to our overjoyed animals!

What did you want to be when you were little? To grow up to be a writer.

What is your best childhood memory? I can�t think of just one in particular. Some of the happiest ones were when my younger brothers and I would gather up a big bunch of blankets and pillows and make big comfy beds on the floor of the family room. We�d do this when special movies were on tv like �Chitty Chitty Bang Bang�, �The Wizard of Oz� etc. Mom would make homemade pizza and that great popcorn that you make in the popcorn makers with oil and real hot butter! Yummy! They were such fun, cozy times when I felt so happy and safe and loved. I�d love to go back to those times again!

Eye Color? Sagey green with a golden amber ring around the pupil. Certain clothes I wear can make them look almost blue but the right color of sage green shirt with a hint of purple eyeliner and they just pop green!

Ever been toilet papering? Nope.

Favorite day of the week? I get to sleep in and have another whole day afterwards to stay home before I return to work on Monday.

i'll do a proper entry soon!...~zen
3 little birdies chirped

7:36 p.m. :: ::
fly back :: fly forward