Zen's Aviary...
Home of the Parrot-Loving, Slightly Neurotic,

Jewelry Designing, Enigmatic Pagan Chick!

an autobiography meme

2006-07-04
i stole this meme form from yakkety yak...thanks stephanie!

An Autobiography in Meme Form

Part 1: The Birth of You

Were you a planned baby?...Yes, my mom had a miscarriage several months before getting pregnant with me. She started having cramps and spotting early in her pregnancy with me and the doctor made her stay home from work that day and put her on bed rest; my father went out and bought her their first color tv and while lying in bed watching tv she heard the news that President Kennedy had been shot.

Were you the first?...Yes. Two brothers followed, one four years later and one six and a half years later.

Were your parents married when you were born?...Yes.

What is your birthdate?...June 11, 1964

Part 2: The Family

How would you describe your family?...I�m the oldest child and the only girl. My brothers and I were and still are really close. I lived a very sheltered childhood in a small town in West Virginia. My parents were upper middle class; my father a chemical engineer and my mom a stay at home mom. She had dinner on the table every night at 6:30 PM. My mom is the nucleus of the family; she�s amazing � strong, beautiful, loving, patient and kind. If I could be half the woman she is, I�d feel successful. My father was an alcoholic and much of my teen years was spent walking on egg shells never knowing what would set him off. He and I had a very rocky relationship during my teen years and I never thought I�d ever feel close to him. But after my daughter was born he changed and was a wonderful grandfather. He seems to try to make up for how he was when we were kids by being the best grandpa ever. We�re now on good terms, but will never be as close as I am to my Mom.

Are your parents married?...Yes, they have been married for over forty years.

Siblings or an only child? �I have two younger brothers.

What are your siblings names? William and Wesley.

Which parent do you get along with best?....My mother, she�s my best friend. (see above).

What do you fight about? I never fight with my Mom!

Do you have step parents? No.

Part 3: The Friends

Do you have more than one best friend?...I have several close friends, but only one true best friend.

What do you like to do when you are together?...I consider my hubby my best friend; he�s always on my side and I trust him to have my back no matter what. One of my closest friends is Guy and we like to just hang out and watch movies, go out to lunch, talk on the phone, go to bookstores.

Do you share the same interests?.... Many yes, but not all.

Which friend can you tell anything to?... Guy.

Part 4: Your Personality

How high/low is your self esteem? �I�ve always had problems with self-esteem. Typical child of an alcoholic bullshit stuff. Also years of anorexia and depression tend to beat the self esteem out of ya! It has become better as I�ve gotten older and I�m finally able to recognize good qualities in myself such as my sense of humour, my creativity, my kindness.

Do you get depressed about things easily? �Most definitely. Have had clinical depression for years which is now managed by antidepressants; but I still feel things way too deeply and am entirely too emotional!

Are you an extrovert or an introvert? �Depends on the situation, but primarily extroverted. I�ll talk to anybody!

Are you happy? � On the whole yes, but the health problems I am dealing with now have been really difficult.

Do you live life to the fullest?. �.NO! Health issues (especially chronic pain) make it impossible for me to do the things I want to do. It�s very frustrating!!!

Part 5: Appearance

Are you comfortable with the way you look? �.Some things about myself I like. I have great skin and pretty eyes. But I hate my body. �Nuff said.

Would you change anything about your appearance if you could? �Yes, I would like to tone up and get more muscular and fit. Chronic pain makes regular exercise difficult and although I�m not overweight I just feel all flabby and floppy!

Do you have any piercings besides your ears? �Not anymore, used to have my nose pierced but my birdies kept pulling it out!

Describe your hair? �.Chin length, dark brown, short choppy layers, sort of an elvyn pixie look.

What make-up do you wear? �.On a daily basis foundation with SPF. When I go out I�ll put on some mascara, maybe a hit of blush and some lip gloss; I�m very low maintenance!

Part 6: The Past

Were you a strange child? �No, not really. I always had my nose in a book thought and oftentimes preferred books over friends.

What did you use to love that you no longer do? Roller blade, play softball and volleyball�basically any physical activity.

Do you have the same friends? �.No.

Was there anything in your past that was traumatizing? �.Yes.

Part 7: The Future

What is your dream? �.To get my health problems resolved, especially chronic pain issues. I can�t even imagine what it would be like to be pain free. To move into a ranch style home (no stairs!!!) with my hubby and our entire zoo. Watching my daughter graduate college and find a job and a life she lives.

Are you scared of growing old? �.Yes, I�m afraid the pain will get worse.

Do you want to get married?... I AM married. For the second time.

Part 8: The Outdoors

Do you prefer indoors or outdoors? �Depends on the season and what I�m doing. I love nature, parks, woods, anything around water; but due to physical problems I don�t get to spend as much time outside as I�d like. Winter is hard on me, cold makes pain worse.

What is your favorite season �.Autumn, I adore the crisp air and the brilliant blue sky dotted with white clouds. The warm sun in the afternoon and the cool air in the evenings. The smell of dry leaves as they crunch underfoot. The leaves bursting forth in riotous colours of red, gold and orange.

Favorite weather? �.Sunny, crisp and dry; October weather.

Do you like walking in the rain? �. Not anymore.

Part 9: Food

Are you a vegetarian? �Not anymore, I was for over 20 years. I still don�t eat much meat at all, once in awhile I�ll eat chicken or turkey if my protein amounts of have been low. I prefer things like veggie burgers tho. Last summer I was horribly anemic to the point my bone marrow was no longer making red blood cells. Ended up in the hospital receiving numerous blood transfusions and then had to undergo six weeks of iron chemotherapy infusions. So, I am now careful to try to get more iron in my diet which involves eating meat at times.

What is your favorite food? �.Different foods at different times of year. I like my mom�s homemade mac �n cheese for comfort food.

What food makes you want to gag? �hominy. UGH!

What is your favorite restaurant? �.hmmm, depends on what I�m in the mood for! There�s a local Chinese hole in the wall that I love.

Part 10: Relationships and Love

Are you single or taken? Taken.

If taken, who is the lucky guy/girl? My husband, J.

Do you think love is the best feeling in the world? �.love and morphine! Living in constant pain makes so many other feelings fade in its wake. The feeling I long for the most right now is pain free.

Do you believe in love at first sight? �.totally. I fell in love with J the moment I met him and I knew that night that we�d be married. It was so weird and I�ve never felt anything like it before.

Part 11: Experiences

What was one of your greatest experiences? �.giving birth to my daughter �Em�, falling in love with J.

Have you ever done drugs? �.Smoked marijuana. I take morphine and percocet on a daily basis but it�s not to get high, it�s just to be able to function.

Have you ever thought you were going to die? �There have been several times where I was close to death, it�s funny but the times I was most afraid I was going to die were not the times I was closest to death.
________________________________________
The Cans

Can you blow a bubble? Yes

Can you dance? No.

Can you do a cart wheel? I used to be able to and a one handed cart wheel as well.
Can you touch your tongue to your nose?
No.

Can you touch your toes? Yes.

Can you whistle? Yes

Can you wiggle your ears? Yes!! My dad can too, but not my Mom and one of my brothers can and one cant!

The Dids

Did you ever get into a fight in school? Verbal, yes. And one time I got into a physical fight with a girl after getting off of the bus. It was in sixth grade and she was much bigger than I, but I refused to be a chicken. Her mother showed up and was yelling �kill her Sloane!�.

Did you ever eat a pie? An entire pie? Not an entire pie, no.

Did you ever run away from home? Yes, briefly when I was 16. Went to a friend�s house and then later in the night had her take me to my aunt�s where she called my parents.

Did you ever want to be a doctor? No..

Did you ever want to be a fire fighter? No.

Did you have a party for your last birthday? No.

The Dos

Do you know how to drive? Yes.

Do you like Roller coasters? NO!

Do you own a bike? Yes, but I have not ridden it in 7 years. I do have a recumbent exercise bike that I love.
Do you think you could handle the stuff they eat on those reality TV shows? Goddess, no.

Do you tie your shoes every day? No, not every day. I wear either clogs or my Chuck Taylors. Some days when I�m home all day I never put on shoes at all!

The Does

Does hair loss run in your family at all? No.

Does your car get good gas mileage? Our Sebring convertible gets good mileage but our Ford Explorer does not.

Does your family have family picnics? Not any more, but we used to.

The Has

Has anyone ever given you flowers? Yes.

The Haves

Have you even been on a plane? Yes, many times.

Have you ever been asked out? Of course.

Have you ever asked someone out? Yes.

Have you ever been to the Ocean? Many times. I used to live in Tampa Florida.

Have you ever gone fishing? Yes.

Have you ever painted your nails? Yes. Fingers AND toes. *grin*

The Hows

How many different places have you lived? I have lived in six states and in many places in two of those states.

How tall are you? 5' 3"

Last

Last song you listened to? Blind Melon, I forget the name of the song.

QUICK NOW!

Quick how much money do you have on you right now? None.

The Whats

What did you wear to bed last night? Eeyore boxers and one of hubby�s t-shirts.

What do you fear? That my health will never get better and my pain will just continue to get worse.

What Radio Station do you listen to? I don�t listen to the radio much. I listen to CDs.

What was the last book you read? �The Abortionist�s Daughter� by Elisabeth Hyde.

What was the last restaurant you ate at? Quiznos at lunch today after doc appt.
What was the last thing you bought? Lunch at Quiznos.

What was the last thing you had to drink? Diet Sunkist.

The Whos

What friend have you known the longest? I have been friends with Dee since I was 8 years old.

Who was that last person you IMed? My friend Guy.

Who was the last person you talked to on the phone? The guy from the home health care place that was delivering my IV meds and supplies.


whew! that took a long time! ~zen 1 little birdies chirped

1:03 a.m. :: ::
fly back :: fly forward